Marijuana Task Force

The Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly enacted the following ordinances relating to the Marijuana Industry:

Ordinance 2016-05: An Ordinance Enacting KPB Chapter 7.20 - Marijuana Regulation, and Designating the Planning Commission as the Local Regulatory Authority Within the Kenai Peninsula Borough Under Alaska Statute Chapter 17.38 for Marijuana Establishments

Ordinance 2016-07: An Ordinance Amending KPB Chapter 7.20 and Enacting KPB Chapter 7.30 Regarding Local Protests of Statte Marijuana Licenses, Amending KPB 21.25 and Enacting KPB Chapter 21.30 Regarding Permit Requirements for Marijuana Establishments, and Amending KPB 21.50 Regarding Violations and Enforcement


Marijuana Task Force:

Under Resolution 2015-013, the Kenai Peninsula Borough has formed the Marijuana Task Force.

The task force shall submit quarterly reports to the administration and assembly which shall include:
(A) a summary of legislative and administrative action taken by the State of Alaska and other municipalities of the State;
(B) how the borough should comment to the State of Alaska regarding the implementation of Alaska Statue Chapter 17.38;
(C) how the borough shall implement AS Chapter 17.38 at the local level; and
(D) recommendations on taking any actions similar to those taken by other municipalities.
Informal updates between quarterly reports may also be provided in response to assembly or administration requests, as deemed appropriate by the task force.


The Marijuana task force is currently comprised of the following members:

Chair Leif Abel; Vice Chair Paul Ostrander, Blaine Gilman, Ron Long; Peter Mlynarik; Dave Nunley, Dollynda Phelps, Wayne Ogle, and Marc Theiler

Staff Support: Holly Montague, Deputy Borough Attorney; Bruce Wall, Planner and Johni Blankenship, Borough Clerk.

See the Marijuana Information and Resources page for task force presentations, resources, and suggested readings.