Election Stakeholders Group

Established by KPB Resolution 2019-006 (adopted 1/18/19 unanimous consent)

The Election Stakeholders Group is established to research ways to increase voter participation by developing sustainable election processes that maximize accessibility and inclusivity while conserving public resources. The Stakeholders Group is directed to explore all aspects of administering borough and municipal elections including the traditional polling site model and the by-mail hybrid model currently being explored by the State of Alaska Election Policy Work Group which includes by-mail voting with vote centers available two weeks prior to the election.

Election Stakeholders Group Final Report



Committee Members: Brenda Ahlberg, Joyanna Geisler, Teri Birchfield, Linda Cusack, Sammy Crawford, Donna Aderhold, Paul Ostrander, Robert Peterkin, Cassidi Cameron, John Colberg, Jeff Bridges, Sue McClure, Stephanie Queen, Tyson Cox, Brent Hibbert and Willy Dunn

Alternate Members: Kaitlin Vadla, Brian Gabriel, Vivian Rojas

Subject Matter Experts: Johni Blankenship, Melissa Jacobsen, Jamie Heinz, Erica Fitzpatrick, Heidi Geagel, Shellie Saner, Brenda Ballou, Holly Montague, Ben Hanson, Bobbi Lay 

Support Staff: Michele Turner

Meeting Location: All meeting will be conducted in the Betty J. Glick Assembly Chamber, 144 N. Binkley Street, Soldotna

Submit your written comments HERE


Center for Election Invocation & Research (CEIR) https://electioninnovation.org/blog/ 
Electronic Registration Information Center (ERIC) https://www.ericstates.org/ 
SOA DOE Elections Policy Work Group http://www.elections.alaska.gov/Core/workgroup.php 
US Election Assistance Commission (EAC) https://www.eac.gov/ 
SOA DCRA Municipal Election Questions Handbook https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/4/pub/Municipal%20Election%20Questions.pdf 
SOA DCRA Municipal Elections Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wErWrSmsZM0